University of Kentucky CAER Home

IEA Publications - Member Countries

IEA Coal Research is a collaborative project established in 1975 involving member countries of the International Energy Agency (IEA). Its purpose is to provide information about and analysis of coal technology, supply and use. The project is governed by representatives of member countries and the Commission of the European Communities.

The Member Countries are:

  • Austria
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • the Republic of South Korea
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • the European Commission

The IEA was established in 1974 within the framework of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). A basic aim of the IEA is to foster co-operation among the twenty-three IEA participating countries in order to increase energy security through diversification of energy supply, cleaner and more efficient use of energy, and energy conservation. This is achieved, in part, through a program of collaborative research and development of which IEA Coal Research is by far the largest and the longest established single project.