University of Kentucky CAER Home


Emission Standards for Coal-Fired Plants

AUTHOR: Jan L. Vernon
DATE: August 1988

The scope of this report is to provide information on current and proposed air pollutant emission standards applicable to coal combustion plants. The report focuses on the three major pollutants currently covered by legislation:
---sulphur dioxide (SO2)
---nitrogen oxides (NOx)
---and particulate matter (or dust).

Where emissions standards for other pollutants exist on a national or regional basis, and where information on these is available, they are included within the text.

The report covers current and proposed emission standards in the fourteen IEA Coal Research countries, and also in other countries which are significant users of coal and have introduced, or plan, relevant emission standards. The focus is on national emission standards but where there is significant legislation at a regional (for example, state or province) level is also described. The report also describes the status of international agreements and legislation on emissions control.

National Air pollutant control policies:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Federal Republic of Germany
  • Finland
  • France
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
  • USA

International agreements and standards:

  • UNECE Convention on Long-Range Transbounday Air Pollution
  • European Communities

Appendix: calculating and converting emissions standards.